The Fabric

The fabric has finally arrived! I can’t believe how long it took! I guess it did come from California, which is basically a continent away. In any case, I am now so excited to start working on the final dress!

The hand-sewing goes faster than I expected, but still, it does go awfully slow.

Beautiful linen:

The pink thread is my hand basting that marks my seam position and keeps me sewing in a straight line:

The bodice lining on the form (wrinkly, I know!):

Isn’t the cotton voile pretty? I finished the back of the bodice, pleats featured here:

Back of the bodice attached to the lining:

I also finished attaching the lace to the front bodice:

So pretty!

 

Go to next post: ‘The work progresses…’

Published in: on July 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marshallhousedress.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/the-fabric/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. exciting! i’m glad you have your fabric. i guess you should have driven to calif. to get it! good excuse for a vacation. if i had known you needed fabric from there, i might have offered to get it and take it to you! you are doing a lovely job.

  2. Good work! I love the lace you picked. Very sweet. Looking forward to seeing the whole thing done. ❤


Leave a Reply

