End of the Summer

It has been far too long since i updated you worthy readers on the progress of Polly's dress. The dress is very near completion. In fact, I am tempted to call it complete. But I am determined to add a double pleat to the skirt hem. Thus one pleat is all i have left to sew. Since school has begun and I am obscenely busy, I don't know when I will add this one last detail. For this reason, I want to wrap up the blog with a few final thoughts and pictures. Let's do the pictures first, the pretty part:





I have learned a great deal by doing this project. I have a much greater knowledge of regency fashion and garment construction, as well as Richmond history. Not only am I, through experience, much better and faster at hand-sewing, I have a better understanding of how it can be useful and the time it takes. Besides having an incredible amount of fun and creative stimulation, the best part about making Polly’s dress is what it has done for my confidence. I feel like I can now tackle almost any project.

I was interviewed by UR’s Artes Liberales, and this article and video will br published online soon. When it is, I’ll post the link here.

My last post will be to announce the date of the UR Arts and Sciences Symposium and the time I will be presenting. I hope you will come join me and see the dress in person!

 

Go to next post: Artes Liberales Interview Video

Published in: on September 2, 2011 at 2:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marshallhousedress.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/end-of-the-summer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

